Australian Leadership Awards Fellowship

Australian Leadership Awards (ALA) Fellowships are part of the Australia Awards initiative which was announced by the Prime Minister in November 2009.

The ALA Fellowships program is part of a regional program that aims to develop leadership and build partnerships and linkages with developing countries.

ALA Fellowships is a highly flexible program that offers Australian organisations opportunities to provide short term study, research and professional development activities in Australia to mid-career professionals and senior officials from eligible countries.

ALA Fellowships complement the longer term ALA Scholarships providing opportunities to current and aspiring leaders who cannot leave their positions for extended periods.

ALA Fellowships are available across a broad range of fields relevant to Australia's foreign policy agenda or development outcomes.

Applications addressing the priority areas of disability and development, economic growth, education, environment, food security, gender, governance, health, human rights, infrastructure, regional stability, rural development and water and sanitation are particularly encouraged.

Australian host organisations
Applications are restricted to Australian organisations demonstrating on-going linkages with counterpart overseas organisations in eligible countries.

Australian organisations from a wide range of academic, research, business, industry, media, NGOs, professional groups and government may apply to host ALA fellows. To qualify, organisations will be required to demonstrate region-specific linkages and the relevance of the proposed programs to the priority areas.

Partner country counterpart organisations and individual fellows are not eligible to apply for support, however they may initiate contact with an Australian organisation to explore their interest in applying.

For organisations funded under previous rounds see:

Round 6 [PDF 27KB]
Round 5 [PDF 82KB]
Round 4 [PDF 21KB]
Round 3 [PDF 22KB]
Rounds 1-2 [PDF 25KB]

Prospective Fellows identified by Australian organisations must be professionals already in leadership positions or have a potential to assume leadership roles that can influence social and economic policy reform and development outcomes. Individuals cannot apply for an ALA Fellowship directly.

Eligible countries
Asia Pacific
Burma (Myanmar) has been included in the list of eligible countries. We will be accepting applications for programs that relate to Burma in Round 8.

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Laos, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Wallis & Futuna.

Latin America and Caribbean
Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Africa (from Round 8)
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Rep), Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Iraq and Palestinian Territories
Applications relating to Iraq and the Palestinian Territories are also eligible.

Application information and forms
ALA Fellowships will be awarded to Australian organisations through a one-step competitive grant process. Strong linkages between organisations and the leadership ability of fellows will be important criteria.

Round 8 is due to open on 17 May and close at 5pm on 25 June . Round 8 documentation will be available on this website from 17 May.

Round 7 is closed—the following application form and guidelines are published for your information only.

Further information : alafellowships@ausaid.gov.au

No comments: